The Criminals

by Serhat Karaaslan, France-Romania-Turkey, fiction, 23 mn, Turkish, in coproduction with Castalia Pictures 

les-criminels_800x600-30.jpg

Synopsis: Late at night, a young Turkish couple tries to find a hotel to spend a romantic night. They are continually turned away for not having a marriage certificate. When they think they have found a way, the situation gets out of hand. 

Supported by: CNC aide avant réalisation, ARTE France. 
Serhat Karaaslan is a Cinéfondation residency alumni.

Festival strategy & sales: Lights On

VoD platforms:

https://web.watchargo.com/films?filmID=722

Those who Remain

by Ester Sparatore, France-Italie-Belgium, documentary, 89 mn, in coproduction with Kino Produzioni, High Sea, Scope Pictures

Celle_que_restent_FACEBOOK2.jpg

Synopsis: Om El Khir is a real fighter. Her husband has disappeared. One morning, he left on a boat for Europe and she has since received no evidence on whether he is dead or alive. Alone with her three children, in her empty and white apartment in the surroundings of Tunis, she bravely takes charge of a day-to-day life changed forever by the absence of her husband. But Om El Khir does not give up. Alongside 503 other Tunisian women (mainly the mothers of the disappeared), she is in search for the truth, fighting so that these men do not fall into oblivion and rallying for justice to be done. The account of Om El Khir's story by Ester Sparatore oscillates between her private life and her fight alongside the other women, two aspects of her life that have become interdependent. By constantly staying as close as possible to this dramatic figure, the filmmaker documents the birth of a new problematic and political space of protest. The story of these Tunisian women, present-day Antigone, shifts our perspective and reveals that the disappeared are now the victims of a Europe that has become a fortress.  Madeline Robert, programmatrice à Visions du réel

Supported by: La Scam, Women Make Movies, MIBACT, CNC, Institut Français (Aide aux cinémas du monde) and Eurimages 

World Premiere at Visions du réel 2019 in International Compétition, Yoga Prize for Best Film at Biografilm Festival

Distribution : Centre audiovisuel Simone de Beauvoir (FR), Kino Distribution (IT) Télescope (Benelux)

VoD platforms:

https://dafilms.com/film/11620-those-who-remain​​

https://www.cinemutins.com/celles-qui-restent

https://www.sooner.be/m/cellesquirestent

Clark's

by Adrien L’Hommedé, fiction, 17 mn, in coproduction with Pleine Image

Synopsis: Alan, a withdrawn and solitary young man, usually finds solace in his inner world. Today is the big day: he’s leaving the family home to enter working life.

Supported by: Nouvelle-Aquitaine region, Charente Maritime, CNC, Adami, Fenwick-Linde

Rest in Piece

by Antoine Antabi, France-Germany-Syria, animation, 7 mn

GAF.png
RIP4.png

Synopsis: Midyan is on the run from his war-torn country. His unbearable hunger forces him to start eating his beloved possessions. The side effects are monstrous but keep him going.

Supported by: Doha Film Institute, fondation Robert Bosch, BKM, KdFS, SLM and région Ile-de-France.

Die Blaue Sophia

by Philipp Klinger, Germany-France, fiction, 10 mn

DBS.png

Synopsis: A bitter-sweet black comedy about one man's obsessive attempt to get a rare and valuable stamp known as the "Blue Sophia." It is the one stamp missing from his recently deceased wife's stamp collection and he's hoping that procuring it will help him overcome his grief. When he asks the members of his brass band for help, the story takes an unexpected turn, and he becomes increasingly desperate, resorting to ever crazier schemes to find the money to purchase the stamp. 

Supported by: Filmakademie Bade-Würtemberg, La Fémis, ARTE/SWR

Festivals: Max Ophuls, Films Femmes Créteil, Durban International Film Festival...

In post-production

Warrior Princess

by Florian Richaud, documentary, 52 mn

Synopsis: Claire is my step-sister. She has Down's syndrome. Today, she is 28 years old, she lives a full life, with its joys and worries. Like any woman of her generation, she is looking for a balance between work and life. For some time now, she has been trying to improve her body image and to regain the freedom she had found through theater work. We have known each other for a long time, and yet we don’t know each other intimately. I ask her to tell her story in this film. It is the opportunity for us to finally connect. 

Supported by: Corse region, Occitanie region, Les Petites Caméras/La Scam, DOC ! and Les Rencontre d’août de Lussas

A Quiet Summer

by Sis Gürdal, Turkey-France, fiction, 12 mn

AQS.png

Synopsis : Ada, a 17yo teenager faces social pressures from her conservative society while she pursues her first summer romance. Things take a turn for the worst when her care-free cousin arrives in town.

In development

Ruta Contemporánea

by Alessia Chiesa, France-Argentina, fiction, 90 mn

Synopsis: Florida, Summer ‘87. An Argentinean family sets off on an exciting road trip. Recently separated, Victor (40s) embarks alone with his children, Julia, Nicolas and Paula (7, 14, 16) from different marriages. The chaotic journey brings to light the family’s deep-rooted dysfunctionalities as the adventure escalades towards disaster.

Supported by: Encuentro de Cine (BAFilms), Script Station pitch (Berlinale 2020).

Emma La Rouge

by Macha Ovtchinnikova, fiction, 15 mn, in coproduction with avec Groupe A

Capture d’écran 2021-11-14 à 14.53.30.png

Synopsis : Emma Goldman, a feminist anarchist, is called in the middle of the night to assist the delivery of a baby in a poor family, with many mouths to feed. She tries to alleviate the suffering of the woman in labour. Back home, she is confronted by her partner Ed, exhausted by her absences. Forced to choose between her love for him and her activism, she writes the influencial speech "The Tragedy of Female Emancipation" (1906).

Supported by: Pictanovo, la DRAC, département de La Somme and Le Fresnoy.

Jodla

by Willy Rollé, fiction, 20 mn, France-Germany, in coproduction with Reynard Films

Synopsis: After a recent sentimental breakup, Franz, German by his mother's side, arrives from Stuttgart to reconnect with the Guyana of his childhood, his father and to find perhaps a new meaning to his life. When he arrives, he finds none of this, but he will go through a particular night in the middle of a carnival.

Supported by: CTG Guyane

Anthropologie de famille

by Alessia Chiesa, France-Argentina, documentary, 59 mn

ADF.png

Supported by: Mecenazgo cultural Buenos Aires

La Décharge

by Willy Rollé, France, fiction, 20 mn, in coproduction with Reynard Films

Capture d’écran 2020-03-31 à 22.30.56.png

Les Criminels

de Serhat Karaaslan, France-Roumanie-Turquie, fiction, 23 mn, en turc, en coproduction avec Castalia Pictures 

les-criminels_800x600-30.jpg

Synopsis : Tard dans la nuit, un jeune couple turc cherche un hôtel pour passer une nuit romantique. Ils se font constamment refouler car ils ne possèdent pas de certificat de mariage. Alors qu’ils pensent avoir trouvé une ruse, la situation dégénère.

Soutiens et partenaires : CNC aide avant réalisation, préachat arte. 
Serhat Karaaslan a participé à la résidence Cinéfondation du festival de Cannes.

Festivals & ventes : Lights On

Disponible en VoD sur :

https://www.arte.tv/fr/videos/090559-000-A/les-criminels/

Celles qui restent 

d'Ester Sparatore, documentaire, 89 mn, Tiresias Films en coproduction avec Kino Produzioni (Italie),  High Sea (FR), Scope Pictures (Belgique) 

Celle_que_restent_FACEBOOK2.jpg

Synopsis : Om El Khir est une battante. Son mari a disparu. Un matin il est parti sur un bateau pour l'Europe et depuis elle n'a reçu aucune preuve de sa mort, ou de sa vie. Restée seule avec ses trois enfants, dans son appartement, vide et blanc, des environs de Tunis, elle se charge vaillamment du quotidien, à jamais changé par l'absence de son mari. Mais Om El Khir ne baisse pas les bras. Aux côtés de 503 autres femmes tunisiennes (principalement des mères de disparus), elle est à la recherche de la vérité, lutte pour que ces hommes ne tombent pas dans l'oubli et se mobilise pour que justice soit faite. Le récit de l'histoire d'Om El Khir par Ester Sparatore oscille entre sa vie privée et sa lutte au côté des autres femmes – deux aspects de sa vie devenus interdépendants. En restant toujours au plus près de cette figure dramatique, la cinéaste documente la naissance d'une nouvelle problématique et d'un nouvel espace politique de contestation. L'histoire de ces femmes tunisiennes, Antigone du temps présent, déplace notre regard et révèle que désormais les disparus sont bien les victimes de l'Europe devenue forteresse. Madeline Robert, programmatrice à Visions du réel

Soutiens et partenaires : La Scam, Women Make Movies, MIBACT, CNC, Institut Français (Aide aux cinémas du monde) et Eurimages 

Avant-première mondiale à Visions du réel 2019 en compétition internationale, prix Yoga du meilleur film à Biografilm Festival

Distribution : Centre audiovisuel Simone de Beauvoir (FR), Kino Distribution (IT) Télescope (Bénélux)

Disponible en VoD sur :

https://dafilms.com/film/11620-those-who-remain​​

https://www.cinemutins.com/celles-qui-restent

https://www.sooner.be/m/cellesquirestent

Gare au Fenwick

d’Adrien L’Hommedé, fiction, 17 mn, en coproduction avec Pleine Image

Synopsis : Alan, jeune homme renfermé et solitaire, trouve habituellement refuge dans son monde intérieur. Aujourd’hui, c’est le grand jour, il quitte le nid familial pour entrer dans la vie active.

Soutiens et partenaires : région Nouvelle-Aquitaine, département Charente Maritime, CNC, Adami, Fenwick-Linde

Rest in Piece

d’Antoine Antabi, France-Allemagne-Syrie, animation, 7 mn

GAF.png
RIP4.png

Synopsis : Midyan fuit son pays déchiré par la guerre. La faim qui le tenaille devient insupportable et le contraint à manger les objets qu'il aime. Les effets sont monstrueux mais lui permettent d'avancer.

Soutiens et partenaires : le Doha Film Institute, la fondation Robert Bosch, le BKM, le KdFS, la SLM et aide après réalisation Ile-de-France.

Die Blaue Sophia

de Philipp Klinger, Allemagne-France, fiction, 10 mn

DBS.png

Synopsis : Une comédie noire douce-amère à propos d’un homme et son obsession de posséder un timbre rare et cher intitulée La Sophie Bleue. Ce dernier est la seule pièce manquante de la collection de sa femme récemment décédée ; l’obtenir lui semble être la seule voie de salut pour faire son deuil. Lorsqu’il se tourne vers les membres de la fanfare dont il fait partie pour obtenir de l’aide, la réponse n’est pas celle attendue. Gagné par le désespoir, il échafaude des plans de plus en plus fous pour rassembler la somme nécessaire.

Soutiens et partenaires : Filmakademie Bade-Würtemberg, La Fémis, préachat arte/SWR

Sélectionné dans de nombreux festivals : Max Ophuls, Films Femmes Créteil, Durban International Film Festival...

Films en post-production

Princesse Guerrière

de Florian Richaud, documentaire, 52 mn

Synopsis : Claire est ma sœur par alliance. Elle est trisomique. Aujourd’hui, elle a 28 ans et vit une vie d’adulte, avec ses joies et ses tracas. Comme toute jeune femme de sa génération, elle recherche l’équilibre entre son travail et sa vie privée. Depuis quelques temps, elle tente de se réapproprier son corps, ses choix, ses envies. Nous nous connaissons depuis longtemps, et pourtant, nous nous connaissons si mal. Je lui propose de raconter son histoire, celle qu’elle cherche à inventer. A travers ce récit, nous nous rencontrons enfin.

Soutiens et partenaires : Région Corse, Région Occitanie, Les Petites Caméras en partenariat avec la Scam, DOC ! et Les Rencontre d’août de Lussas

A Quiet Summer

de Sis Gürdal, Turquie-France, fiction, 12 mn

AQS.png

Synopsis : Ada, une adolescente de 17 ans, fait face à la pression de la société turque, alors qu'elle tente de vivre son premier flirt estival. Les choses prennent une mauvaise tournure lorsque sa cousine Mira, 17 ans elle aussi, mais insouciante, débarque de France.

Films en développement

Ruta Contemporánea

d'Alessia Chiesa, France-Argentine, fiction, 90 mn

Synopsis : Floride, été 1987. Une famille argentine embarque pour un road trip ambitieux. Récemment séparé, Victor (40 ans) part seul avec ses enfants, Julia, Nicolas et Paula (7, 14, 16 ans) issus de mariages différents. L'aventure tourne au désastre et met en lumière les dysfonctionnements profonds de cette famille recomposée.

Soutiens et partenaires : Encuentro de Cine (BAFilms), Script Station pitch (Berlinale 2020).

Emma La Rouge

de Macha Ovtchinnikova, fiction, 15 mn, coproduit avec Groupe A

Capture d’écran 2021-11-14 à 14.53.30.png

Synopsis : Appelée en pleine nuit pour assister un accouchement dans une famille pauvre et nombreuse, Emma Goldman, anarchiste féministe, s’efforce de soulager les souffrances de la parturiente. De retour à son domicile, elle se trouve confrontée à son compagnon Ed, épuisé par ses absences. Contrainte de choisir entre son amour pour lui et son engagement militant, elle élabore un discours qui résonne encore aujourd’hui « La tragédie de l'émancipation féminine » (1906).

Soutiens et partenaires : Pictanovo, la DRAC, le département de La Somme et Le Fresnoy.

Jodla

de Willy Rollé, fiction, 20 mn, France-Allemagne, en coproduction avec Reynard Films

Synopsis : Avec dans ses bagages une rupture sentimentale récente, Franz, allemand par sa mère, arrive de Stuttgart pour retrouver la Guyane de son enfance, son père et peut-être un nouveau sens à sa vie. À son arrivée, il ne trouve rien de tout ça, mais va traverser une nuit particulière en plein carnaval.

Soutiens et partenaires : CTG Guyane

Anthropologie de famille

d’Alessia Chiesa, France-Argentine, documentaire, 59 mn

ADF.png

Soutiens et partenaires : Mecenazgo cultural Buenos Aires

La Décharge

de Florian Richaud, fiction, 20 mn

Capture d’écran 2020-03-31 à 22.30.56.png